Zidane next? Six men who have won the Champions League as player and manager

first_img 4. Johan Cruyff – Won it in 1971, 1972 and 1974 as a player, and in 1992 as a manager – A true football legend, Cruyff sadly passed away earlier this year. His legacy lives on though, as will the memories of his three consecutive European Cup triumphs with Ajax in the 1970s, and his win as manager of Barcelona in 1992. That several of his former players are such successful managers prove his influence on the Beautiful Game will be endless. 7 7 7 7 7 2. Giovanni Trapattoni – Won it with AC Milan in 1963 and 1969 as a player, and 1985 as a manager – Famously man-marked Eusebio as AC Milan beat Benfica 2-1 at Wembley in 1963, he won it with them again in 1969 as they dispatched an Ajax team including Johan Cruyff 4-1. As a manager he guided Juventus to glory in as they defeated Liverpool 1-0, thanks to Michel Platini’s second-half penalty. Zinedine Zidane could become the seventh man to lift the European Cup/Champions League as a player and a manager on Saturday night. Click the right arrow above to find out which six men have already completed the incredible feat… Zinedine Zidane is no stranger to making history.As a player, the Marseille-born star, was one of the most gifted midfielders of his generation, using his grace and elegance to baffle opponents.Trophies were Zizou’s reward, with title wins in Italy and Spain complementing his World Cup and European Championship wins with France in 1998 and 2000, respectively.He only won the Champions League once, but he did it in style, volleying home a Roberto Carlos cross to help Real Madrid beat Bayer Leverkusen 2-1 in in 2002.Now, as a manager, he has the opportunity to lift Ol’ Big Ears once again and, if he does, he will join a list of just seven men to win the trophy – either in it’s guise as the European Cup or Champion League – as a player and as a manager.So who are the six coaches who have already put their names in the history books? Click the right arrow above to find out… 7 7 1. Miguel Munoz – Won it with Real Madrid in 1956, 1957 and 1958 as a player, then 1960 and 1966 as a manager – He’s won it five times – the same amount as Liverpool have as club. The Spanish midfielder was in the right place at the right time, ending his career with three consecutive European Cup wins in the first three editions of the competition. After a year coaching their reserves, Munoz then came back to manage the first-team, helping them lift the trophy in 1960, where the firepower of Ferenc Puskas and Alfredo Di Stefano helped them beat Eintracht Frankfurt 7-3 at Hampden Park. Then, in 1966, he watched his charges beat Partizan Belgrade 2-1 in Brussels. 3. Carlo Ancelotti – Won it in 1989 and 1990 as a player and 2003, 2007 and 2014 as a manager – Another man who has won it five times overall, Ancelotti has the potential to win even more now he’s becoming Bayern Munich boss. As a player he helped AC Milan to victories over Steaua Bucharest and Benfica. Meanwhile, in managerial roles, he led Milan to glory in 2003 and 2007 before helping Real Madrid, finally, claim La Decima with a 4-1 triumph over city rivals Atletico, in extra-time. 5. Frank Rijkaard – Won it in 1989, 1990 and 1995 as a player, and as 2006 as a manager – The Dutch defensive midfielder lifted Ol’ Big Ears twice with AC Milan as a player, scoring the winner against Benfica in 1990, before ending his career winning it as a part of Ajax’s famous team in 1995. After embarking on a managerial career, he eventually led Barcelona to glory in 2006 as they came from behind to beat Arsenal – who had 10 men – 2-1 in Paris. 6. Pep Guardiola – Won it in 1992 as a player, and in 2009 and 2011 as a manager – The brilliant midfielder was in the centre of the park as Ronald Koeman gave Barcelona their first ever European Cup final win, as Johan Cruyff’s Dream Team defeated Sampdoria 1-0. He then went on to manage a Lionel Messi inspired Barcelona to glory over Manchester United in 2009 and 2011.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *